Champion for Kids

Each year Alaska Children’s Trust recognizes an individual that has demonstrated dedication and commitment in working toward preventing child abuse and neglect by ensuring that children are living in safe, supportive, and nurturing communities. The purpose of the Champion for Kids Award is to recognize someone for his or her contributions to children living throughout Alaska, whether it is through their professional employment, volunteer work, community activities, or actively working with children.

2019 Northern Champion for Kids


Alaska Children’s Trust thanks the Golden Heart city for the warm welcome and show of support at our annual Fairbanks fundraising event held on April 4, 2019. Due to the support of many, ACT met the $5,000 Doyon challenge grant opportunity and raised over $10,000 for the Alaska Children’s Trust. We honored our 2019 Northern Champion for Kids, Brenda Riley, known for her inspirational work for the Fairbanks Children’s Museum. Thank you to Doyon Limited, our many Fairbanks Co-Hosts, board members and friends.  

As a co-founder and the inaugural director of the Fairbanks Children’s Museum, Brenda and her partners, supporters, and staff have built much more than just a museum.  Her passion for her work helping children and families thrive is an example to us all. She is the Patron Saint of Fairbanks’ Parents. Her commitment to children, families and her community does not end with the Children’s Museum. She has been a member various community boards - President of the Arctic Alliance for People and was Chair of the Fairbanks North Star Borough’s Early Childhood Development Commission.  Plus is a sitting member of the Board of Directors for the University Alumni Association.

 Daily, Brenda demonstrates her commitment to improving the lives of those in her community, especially those most vulnerable. Thank you Brenda for being a Champion for Kids.   

2019 Southeast Champions for Kids

Congratulations to our 2019 Southeast Champions for Kids Awardees:

  • Senator Peter Micciche

  • Joy Lyon

Read more about these awardees on our blog.

2018 Lifetime Champions for Kids

champions-for-kids (2).jpg

Congratulations to our 2018 Lifetime Champions for Kids Awardees:

  • Gov. Tony Knowles

  • Diane Kaplan

  • Lt. Gov. Fran Ulmer

  • Deborah Bonito

  • Carol Brice

  • Ramona Barnes

Read more about these awardees on our blog.

Application Process

Help us identify our next Champion for Kids by nominating someone in your community. If you wish to nominate someone, please fill out the award application and submit it to Trevor Storrs.  

Champion for Kids Award Application

Past Award Recipients

2018 Champion for Kids

2017 Champion for Kids

2016 Champion for Kids

2015 Champion for Kids 

2014 Champions for Kids

2013 Champion for Kids